CAPCC holds 56th Annual Awards Banquet

Community Action held its annual awards banquet at the Holiday Inn in downtown Johnstown, PA. Employees, Board members and community individuals were all recognized for their years of service and dedication to the agency and its mission. 

Mary Walker, HR assistant received the 19th annual Dorothy G. Lewis Employee Award for her devoted service in the human resources department to our employees and our clients as well. She was nominated by her peers at the   agency.

Donna Chaplin received the first annual Professional Development Award for advancing her career within the Early Childhood Program over the years! She is currently a teacher assistant in the program. She was also nominated by her peers for this award.

Anthony Penna Sr. received the 39th Paul Bennett Board Award for his devoted service to the agency’s Board of Directors. He is currently the director for Coaches for Kids, a local non-profit agency in our area. Tony was not able to attend our event so his wife, Barb, accepted the award on his behalf.

Susan Mann received the 35th Anthony Genovese Humanitarian Award for her devoted service in the community. She is currently the executive director of the 1889 Foundation.

Chrystal Gordon received her 5 years of service pin.

Other employees achieving 5 years of service were:

Tammy Lamer, Joy Scott and Tyneshia Jones

Jeffery Vaughn received his 10 years of service plaque and pin. 


Other employees achieving 10 years of service were:

Craig Hall, Agnes Lynch and Heidi Roberts

Michelle Jones and Sherry George received their 15 years of service plaques and pins.

Another employee achieving 15 years of service was Dave Clark

Melina Hudec received her 20 years of  service plaque and pin.

Barb DeLozier also received her 20 year award later.

Other employees achieving 20 years of   service were: Matt Maticic and Mary Lou Leppert

Several Board members and employees posed with Susan Mann from the 1889 Foundation. From left to right: Tania Jerome, Adrienne Rosmus, Josh Yoder,    Alanna Wilson, Susan Mann, Shealeigh Wallace, Stephanie Buck, Jeff Vaughn.


WIC Coats for Kids Fundraising Event:

The 14th Annual WIC Coats for Kids Motorcycle Run was held on Saturday, July 24, 2021.  Riders gathered at the Nanty Glo Fire Hall for the event and enjoyed beautiful weather for their bike ride.  After the run, all involved enjoyed a spaghetti dinner, basket raffle, door prizes, best bike contest, kids bicycle decorating contest and great music by Ruff Tymes Band! This successful event will help keep a lot of children in need, warm this winter.  All proceeds will be used to shop with families for new coats, hats, gloves, and boots.

Thank you to event organizer, Kimberly Holdsworth, for all your hard work in making this a successful event and thank you to all who have donated.


55th Annual CAPCC Awards Event:

Our annual awards banquet had to go to a virtual platform this year due to the pandemic situation. The program was similar to the usual one and awards were still able to be presented appropriately.

Our Dorothy G. Lewis Employee Award went to Deborah Morgan a State Head Start Teacher.  Congratulations to Deborah!

Staff Service Awards:

5 years-Marge Bubner, Ginny Christy, Jenna Frampton, Lindsay Kleman,  Susan Shaffer, Allison Wells and Kristy Whitman.

10 years-Elizabeth Barto, Barb Layton, Beth Lovell and Cindy Rumbaugh

15 years-Becky Hendrickson, Rita Wallace and Tricia Zierer

20 years-Cathy Franey, Stacy Skibo, Deb Stohon, Christine Theys and  Christine Walker

25 years-Julie Myers

30 years-Sherri Smay

45 years-Lois Pergrim

Jacqueline LaRue received this year’s Paul Bennett Board Award.

Jacqueline is the current liaison with the Early Childhood/Head Start Policy Council and the agency’s Board of Directors. This role requires attendance and participation at multiple meetings in both areas. She has also actively participated in assisting with the programs interviewing and hiring process as well. Although new to the agency’s Board, she has demonstrated a strong commitment to serving others and being actively involved in all levels!

Jeannine McMillan and  Leanna Bird received this year’s Anthony Genovese Community Award for all their efforts with the 1889 Center for Population Health program here in Cambria and   Somerset Counties. This program was established to assist pregnant mothers who are in need of    additional services.

Various community health workers will provide this service to these clients. Jeannine and Leanna have worked tirelessly in making early community contacts, coordinating the contracts with service providers and implementing the program as well. They are well deserving candidates for this award!


Easter Seals Office Olympics:

As usual Community Action Partnership employees participated in this event for the Easter Seals of Pennsylvania. Due to the pandemic, the activities were all done outdoors but were just as enjoyable for everyone who participated.

CAPCC did not win any medals, however, the agency did take first place for raising the most funds for the event! Overall the two teams raised over $680 with Robin Gartrell personally raising $545 herself! Robin won a gift card for her efforts and Deb Orris also won a basket as well.

Team 1: Shelle Eisenhuth, Madi Gartrell,

Robin Gartrell, Deb Morgan, Stacy Leventry

Team 2: Michelle Moss, Deb Hartshorn

Lori Johnson, Pattie Kohort, Ashley Hamilton